Camagüey, which is pronounced [kamaˈ(ɣ)wej], is Cuba's third most populated city, having over 321,000 inhabitants. It is the capital of the Camagüey Province and was founded in 1514 as Santa María del Puerto del Príncipe. The city was initially established on the northern coast before relocating to the site of a Taino village named Camagüey in 1528. This was one of the seven original Spanish colonies in Cuba. In the 17th century, Henry Morgan destroyed the city, so it was later restructured in a way that would make it difficult for attackers to find their way around.


Intrepid Explorers


More stories about this location